How to Make Homemade Yogurt, As Easy as 1, 2 , 3 !

My family loves yogurt, we eat it nearly everyday. We eat it with our subjis and spicy dishes. We love it with our Paranthas and Potatoes. We make cool butter milk and sweet Lassi . I remember when I went to India I fell in love with homemade yogurt. It was so tangy and wholesome. My wonderful Mother-in-law taught me about how to make it, and I have been making homemade yogurt ever since. It is super easy, and saves money, and you avoid harmful ingredients in store bought yogurt. My secret to getting good yogurt is to heat up the oven a little bit and then tun it off and placed the wrapped bowl with the milk and yogurt inside of it. This keeps the temperature consistent enough to form the yogurt. This recipe makes 4 cups.

Ingredients:

4 cups milk

3 tablespoons plain yogurt (purchased or homemade)

Earthen clay containers make the best yogurt

Instructions:

1. Place the pot over moderate heat and heat the milk until it reaches at least 180°F or boils, stirring occasionally to prevent a skin from forming and making sure the milk doesn’t scald or boil over. Remove the milk from the heat and allow it to cool to 110°F to 115°F, or which feels a little hot to your finger. Place the milk in a bowl ( non metal)  that can be covered. My husband and Mother-in-law swears that earthen containers, like those made of fired clay makes the best yogurt! So I stick to those, because it is so yummy.

2. In a small bowl, combine about 1 cup warm milk with the yogurt and stir to combine. Add the yogurt-milk mixture to the remaining warm milk and stir until completely incorporated. Do not stir vigorously.

3. Cover the bowl with a lid or plate. Wrap the container in a towel or small blanket. If the room is really warm like in summer you can leave the bowl on top of a refrigerator. If your house is drafty or it is not warm you can heat the oven for a few minutes then turn it off and place the covered and wrapped yogurt container in the oven. Let incubate between 110°F and 115°F for 5 to 10 hours, depending on the desired flavor and consistency—longer incubation periods produces thicker, more tart yogurt. Do not disturb the yogurt during incubation. When the yogurt has reached its desired taste and consistency refrigerate and enjoy!

5 thoughts on “How to Make Homemade Yogurt, As Easy as 1, 2 , 3 !

  1. I don’t have a clay pot so I’m searching frantically for something else to try with lol! Why not a metal bowl? Reckon a ceramic baking dish could work? I want to try today but I might have to wait until I go to the shops tomorrow and buy something better. Oh and yes yours is definitely the easiest I’ve read by far!

    • I am glad you find it easy. 🙂 you can use a ceramic baking dish for sure and glass works to. I know people that use glass mason jars like for cannning. My mil and hubby just love the earthen containers, they say it juat insulated so well . You cant use Metal because it reacts with the bacteria in some way, not sure exactly how lol. You cant use metal for making yeasty things like bread rising either. I am excited to see how it comes out foe you.

      • So it did work for me – I think I had it reating in the oven from about 8pm worth it on low until about 11pm, then I had to turn it off because going to bed, and it did get pretty cold over night but I left it in the oven sheltered, with foil covering my ceramic baking dish with a tray over that. My fiance tried it this morning and said it seemed fine.
        Just a little sweet – I used some of a sweet yogurt I had – it was plain just a little sweetened. Was hoping with all the milk dilution it would affect it but yes it did but only slightly we can still use it no worries really. Just next time I will buy the smallest plain unsweetened yogurt possible and start my cultures off that (so I will not save from this one). But I knew that was a risk just I didn’t want to go buying good plain yogurt to waste it – LOL!!!
        So thanks for posting this and to other followers here – this one is definitely worth a shot!

      • I am glad it worked for you, Gosh I love how milk can be made into so many different things with just a bit of work. yogurt, paneer, icecream, butter 🙂 Yummmmm

      • I always thought it would be harder and what my Desi Man told me, plus some things I read, just put me off lol.
        I made the yogurt from light milk, seems ok, but realised I had to do paneer from full cream due to the seperation. I got white bread to put in my freezer to try the icecream eventually, just need the mangos. If butter can be made using lite milk, I would try – otherwise sticking with margarine.

Leave a Reply

