Daddy Has Brown Skin and Mommy Has Pink Skin: My Three Year Old Daughter’s View on Being Mixed

The other day we were at home and coloring pictures, my daughter randomly said “daddy is brown”. For some reason I was shocked to know she saw the difference already. So I asked her what color I was and she said pink. So then I asked her what color her skin was, and she said “I dont know”?I explained to her  that her skin was a combination of both mine and daddy’s. She seemed happy knowing that. I told her it was called Tan.  My view as a parent of a mixed child is to just keep it honest, that’s what kids desire most. I dont over complicate it. Daddy has brown skin and was born in India. Mommy had pink ( I like to think tan) skin and was born in American . Nasreen was born in American, but is both American and Indian. Above all we raise her to be proud of everything that she is.

Here is a video of her telling everyone about herself.

21 thoughts on “Daddy Has Brown Skin and Mommy Has Pink Skin: My Three Year Old Daughter’s View on Being Mixed

Leave a Reply

