Butter Chicken: My Most Requested Recipe

Since I have been married to an Indian my friends often ask me for Indian recipes. I have become the contact person for my American friends to the Indian world.  Many of the recipes I learned from my husband, my mother in law, books, and many from youtube videos. 🙂

One of my very favorite recipes is Butter Chicken. I usually cook it for guests when they come to my home. It is super simple and its creamy taste makes almost everyone happy. I have not met a single person who didn’t like it, and this included people who traditionally did not like ” Indian” food. I can not take credit for this recipe. This super easy and super yummy and it only takes a few ingredients. This Butter chicken recipe is by Chef Harpal Sigh. I love this chef he is easy to follow and fun to watch! I hope you enjoy, it is one our favorites! You can use this base for Paneer as well. 

Ingredients

Makes 4 servings

 

Boneless chicken, cut into 1½ inch pieces

1 1/2 pounds

Red chile powder1

1  teaspoon

Lemon juice

1  tablespoon

Table salt

1/2  teaspoon

Butter

2  tablespoons

Marinade

 

Greek yogurt

1/2  Cup

Ginger paste

2  teaspoons

Garlic paste

2  teaspoons

Red chile powder

1/2  teaspoon

Garam masala powder

1/2  teaspoon

Table salt

1  teaspoon

Mustard oil

2  teaspoons

Makhni gravy

 

 

 

Butter

2  tablespoons

Green cardamoms

4

Gram javitri (mace)

01

Deghi mirch (red chile) powder

1  teaspoon

Garlic cloves, roughly chopped

5

Fresh ginger piece, chopped

1/2  Inch

Tomatoes, roughly chopped

12  medium

Table salt

1  teaspoon

Honey

1  tablespoon

Fresh cream

3  tablespoons

 
 

Instructions: 

1.Prick the chicken pieces all over with a fork. Place them in a large bowl and add the red chilli powder, lemon juice and salt and mix well. Cover the bowl with a cling film and set aside to marinate for thirty minutes in a refrigerator.

2.For the marinade, mix together drained yogurt, ginger paste, garlic paste, chilli powder, garam masala powder, salt and mustard oil. Add the chicken and mix well so that all the chicken pieces are well coated with the marinade. Cover the bowl with cling film and place it in the refrigerator to marinate for three to four hours.

3.Preheat the oven to 400°F

4.String the chicken pieces onto skewers and cook them in the preheated oven for ten to twelve minutes or until almost done. Baste the chicken pieces with the butter and cook for two minutes more. Take the skewers out of the oven and slide the chicken pieces onto a place and set aside. The kebob style chicken makes for a great consistency. 

5.Heat one tablespoon butter in a deep non stick pan on low heat. Add the green cardamoms and mace and cook till fragrant.

6.Mix the red chilli powder in one tablespoon water to make a smooth paste. Add it to the pan and stir. Add the garlic, ginger and tomatoes and mix well. Cook for twenty minutes or till the tomatoes become pulpy.

7.Strain the mixture into a bowl and grind the residue till smooth. 

8.Heat the remaining butter in another deep non stick pan on low heat and add the strained mixture and cook, stirring occasionally, for fifteen minutes.

9.Add the salt, honey and cream and mix well. Cook for two minutes more. Add the chicken pieces and cook for three minutes.

10.Serve hot with naan or rice

 
 
8 thoughts on “Butter Chicken: My Most Requested Recipe

  1. oh yes , I have this video on my links.. so when i cook meat I put it on and do the needful ..
    and YES this one I can cook and I cook a lovely butter chicken..

    Although If you go to india next , make sure you go to chandigarh, hotel mount view and taste the butter chicken there .. NOTHING in the world can compare to that …

Leave a Reply

