Why I Love Being Married to an Indian #3: The Food

So far in this series ” Why I Love Being Married to an Indian” I have written about my top 2 things I love the most:

1. The Holidays!:  https://mymasalalife.wordpress.com/2014/06/26/why-i-love-being-married-to-an-indian-1/

2. The Clothes!:  https://mymasalalife.wordpress.com/2014/06/28/why-i-love-being-married-to-an-indian-2-the-clothes/

 

Now here is my third addition to the series: THE FOOD!!!

So many yummy choices to choose from!!!

I am not alone in my love for Indian Food. According to an article I read in the New York times, there are over  8,000 Indian restaurants in the United States alone! It is an incredibly popular genre of food especially in places that have high levels of Indian immigration. The highest density of Indian restaurants are in California and New York, but you can find them almost everywhere. I completely understand why this food is so popular! Indian Food is Delicious!!!! 

Relative Distribution of Indian Restaurants in the United States

Most people enjoy Indian Food because of the rich flavors, creative uses of vegetables, and wonderful curries and sauces. Indian food is a wonderful choice for both meat eaters and vegetarians alike. Whenever I dine with Vegans and Vegetarians, Indian food is almost always a safe option for all of our dinning needs.

I love the fact that by marrying into the Indian culture I have had the great privileged to learn a whole new wonderful style of cooking!

I cook Indian food for my family about four times a week. The other days of week we eat a mixture of foods ( American, Italian, Mexican, Chinese). I make mainly North Indian Punjabi Food, but I also love trying out other types of Indian food as well !

Here is a number of reasons why Indian food is awesome!

This is Butter Paneer, a super creamy dish made with homemade cheese, so yummy

1. Delicious:  Indian food is never boring! I have never had an Indian dish that was plain or bland! All the food is an expert balance of sweet, sour, salty, and spicy! The rich sauces go great with plain rice and flat bread.  

This is Saag, which is made from Spinach and mustard greens! It is so tasty and so good for you!

2. Vegetables: Indian dishes make even the most basic vegetables interesting and yummy! Carrots,  peas, potatoes, Okra, eggplant, spinach and so many others become wonderful tasty dishes worthy of a main course. When I was growing up vegetables were a boring side, now they are interesting and exciting. 

Simple garbanzo beans can become delicious!

3. Cooking Indian food is often cheaper : I like to budget, and I am always trying to find new ways to decrease my spending. Cooking Indian food saves me a lot of money. I cook a lot of died beans like garbanzo beans (chanas), lentils (dal) , red beans ( rajma) , and black eyed peas ( Rangi). I use the pressure cooker and it cooks these beans in about 15 minutes or less. A one dollar bag of beans becomes a meal for the whole family that is nutritious and inexpensive. The wonderful indian gravy’s made of onion, chilies, ginger, garlic, tomatoes and spices makes these dishes so yummy and so cost effective while being incredible healthy! 

My husband helping me trim all the greens for Saag! never thought this much green would taste so good!

4. Healthy and Balanced: If you avoid too many of the tasty Indian fried foods and yummy sweets, Indian food can be very balanced and gives you good sources of fiber, vegetarian sources of protein, and vitamins. 

Ginger: Present in most curries helps in digestion and is high in antioxidants that fight cancer

Turmeric, miracle spice!

Turmeric (Haldi): Also present in most curries is a miracle spice that is known as a powerful anti inflammatory, has been used in weight loss and treatments of cancer and arthritis. 

Lentils ( Dal) a staple in many Indian households is a wonderful food that fills so many nutritional requirements. 1 cup of dal is %36 of needed daily iron,% 62 fiber, %35 protein and low in calories! 

Nasreen eating Indian food at the Gurdwara!

I still love the food I grew up with, but I feel really blessed to be able to learn the art of Indian cooking! Indian cooking really is an art! These recipes are passed down for generations! The perfect blend of spices and tastes! I love cooking Samosa,Paranthas, Butter Chicken, rasmalai, Chanas, Aloo Subzi, momos and so many other dishes. My daughter gets to grow up eating Mexican, American, Indian, Chinese, Portuguese, Japanese, Greek and everything else in between. Food really makes life more interesting and by marrying my husband I inherited a whole new set of traditions. What can I say,  I love my Masala life!

If you are interested in some of my Masala recipes here is a link to a few of them:

https://mymasalalife.wordpress.com/category/masala-cooking/

 

 

11 thoughts on “Why I Love Being Married to an Indian #3: The Food

  1. Wow I am in awe of your cooking skills! I think I shall give it a go sometimes. Usually I am on a rotation of cooking the same generic western dishes (tacos, pasta, and breaded chicken)! Haha 🙂

    • I am really was not given a choice if I do western food two days in a row I get complaints. He always needs a roti! I once made they yummy fish tacos and he was like thats a nice snack wheres the dinner now.

Leave a Reply

