Nepali Momos: Tasty Spicy Turkey Dumplings

Momos a wonderful snack on a rainy afternoon

One day last year I was walking around my apartment complex with my daughter and we met a beautiful little girl almost exactly the same age (10 days difference). She and her family were from Nepal and that day we started a wonderful friendship between the girls and us adults. Nepali culture and Indian culture are very similar in many ways. We enjoyed sharing our cultures with each other. One day I taught my neighbor how to make aloo Paranthas, a Punjabi dish and than she taught me how to make Nepali Momos.

Momos are a dumpling that can be made either vegetarian or with meat. It can be fried or steamed. I honestly prefer the Nepali Style of Momo over the Indian Style. I had Momos when I was in India from a street vender, they were a little dry, fried and spicy.The momos my Nepali friend taught me are very fresh tasting, steamed, and so full of flavor and moisture! These are one of my favorite snack! I thank my neighbor Dipa once again for teaching me this wonderful recipe!

Ingredients:

1 pound ground turkey meat

1 cup finely chopped red onion

1 inch finally chopped skinned ginger

1 green chili finally chopped

1 large bunch of fresh cilantro finally chopped ( this is an important ingredient and gives the momos a wonderfully fresh flavor! )

6 green onions finally chopped

2 tablespoons coriander powder

1 tablespoon garam masala

1 tablespoon cumin powder

1 tablespoon garlic salt.

i package of won ton or round Asian wrappers.

1. Place onion, chili, ginger and green onion in the chopper and grind to fine pieces. If cutting by hand make sure to cut very finely.

2. Chop the cilantro finely.

3. Mix the ground uncooked turkey in a medium bowl with the chopped vegetables and cilantro.

4. Add the spices, mix well!

5. You can use either the round or the square wonton wrappers for Momos. Last night I used the square ones but in the past I have used the round ones as well. There are many different styles of making dumplings. The basic idea is that you need to put a spoonful of the mixture in the middle of the wrapper and seal it. Have a bowl of water handy for wetting the ends to seal them.

turkey meat filling in the wonton wrapper

Here is a great link describing different ways to fold dumplings. They all work its just a matter of skill and preference. I am not great at folding the wrappers, I care more about the over all taste. Click here for folding Dumpling instructions

My funny shapped Momo! Totally not a food artist!

My makeshift steamer

frying the steamed momos for my husband

6. If you have a steamer use it because that is the best, but you can also create a steamer by putting a metal colander in a large pot of hot boiling water. That is what I had to do because I do not have a steamer.  Place the prepared momos in the steamer, cover and steam for 8-10 minutes or until the insides are cooked. You can eat them steamed or you can fry the steamed momos to give them a different taste. I prefer steamed while my husband likes them fried.

Serve with whatever dipping sauce you desire. Last night we had it with Thai sweet chili sauce and it was wonderful. There is a special Nepali sauce made for momos made of tomatoes chili and sesame. I have included the recipe below.

The results some fried for my hubby and some steamed for me

Chilli Sesame Momo Dipping Sauce

Ingredients
4 tbsp sesame seeds
6 dried red chillis
2 tomatoes
2 garlic cloves, crushed
1 tbsp fresh coriander
1/4 cup water

To Make
1. Heat a dry non stick frying pan or wok over a medium heat. Add the sesame seeds and toast for about 1 minute, stirring often, until lightly browned. Remove from pan and set aside.
2. In the same dry pan, place the dried red chillis and the whole tomatoes and heat for about 2-3 minutes, turning ever so often to ensure even roasting. Remove from the pan and set aside with the sesame seeds.
3. Combine the sesame seeds, chillis, tomatoes, crushed garlic, coriander and water in a food processor and blend for a minute into a sauce. Now you can dip your yummy momos in it!

Momos are great with a cup of Chai and honestly steamed they are not the worse thing for your waist line!

3 thoughts on “Nepali Momos: Tasty Spicy Turkey Dumplings

  1. hii 🙂
    im vegetarian and i would really appreciate it if you can post the vegetarian version of this recipe? or perhaps just tell me the vegetarian substitution 🙂
    thanks a lot tina xo

Leave a Reply

