My Four Year Old Writing Her Name in English and Punjabi

Nasreen received a chalk board as a house warming present from mommy and daddy. Our move across country from California to Michigan and then back to California was hard on her. Emotionally she is very mature and very aware of her surroundings.  Moving and having to leave things and people behind has left her feeling unsettled. We gave her the chalkboard as a way of saying welcome to your new home! She loved the easel and chalk board and spends hours drawing and writing on it.

Recently she has been practicing writing her name in both English and Punjabi letters. It makes me so happy to see her so passionate about learning how to write and speak in both English and Punjabi and I will support her in any way I can. She has an easier time writing in English because her school supports those lessons, but she is picking up Punjabi well. I am currently writing a Punjabi child’s picture dictionary to help teach her more vocabulary. I hope that it may possibly help other children learn Punjabi as well.

5 thoughts on “My Four Year Old Writing Her Name in English and Punjabi

  1. AMAZING! What an intelligent girl! It is really nice that you are teaching her Punjabi. I really want to teach my daughter Tamil so this is an inspiration 🙂

Leave a Reply

