Gulab Jamun: A Sweet Paradise!

For Father’s Day I decided to make something I never have before as a special treat. So I made the Indian favorite, Gulab Jamun. Gulab Jamun is like an Indian doughnut. This dessert is incredibly sweet and I can only have a bite, but my husband adores it! I personally love Gulab Jamun over vanilla ice cream. I thought it was going to be alot harder to make the dish but it was actually quite simple. One of the easiest Indian desserts I have ever made! I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients
for the gulab jamuns:
  • 1 cup milk powder
  • ¼ cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp oil or ½ tsp ghee ( butter)
  • a pinch of salt (optional)
  • a pinch of baking soda
  • 1 to 2 tbsp milk
  • a few blanched pistachio or almond slices for garnishing
for the sugar syrup:
  • 2 cups water
  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 2-3 green cardamoms, husked & crushed or powdered
  • a pinch of saffron (optional)
  • 1 tsp rose water (optional)
Instructions
preparing the sugar solution:
  1. mix water, sugar, cardamom and saffron.
  2. keep this sugar solution and cook till you get a syrup consistency.
  3. there should be no thread formation in the sugar solution.
  4. stir in the rose water and keep aside.
preparing the jamuns:
  1. first mix the milk powder, all purpose flour, soda in a bowl.
  2. add oil or ghee and just 1 tbsp of milk.
  3. mix and keep on adding little of the milk to get a soft sticky mixture. facebook-6885
  4. the dough should not be crumbly or dry. if it is then add some milk.
  5. oil you hands and make smooth small balls from the dough.facebook-6888
  6. facebook-6886heat the oil and the reduce the flame to low.
  7. add the balls and fry them stirring often to get even color.
  8. when they become golden, remove from a slotted spoon and add them to the sugar syrup. facebook-6891
  9. let them soak in the sugar syrup for at least 1 hours, it will increase the size of the Gulab Jamun.
  10. gulab jamuns should be served warm. Serve gulab jamun topped with sugar syrup. I love to eat one with vanilla ice cream. facebook-6893

7 thoughts on “Gulab Jamun: A Sweet Paradise!

    • Wow that is so awesome that your husband owns a sweet shop! I love Indian sweet shops. I told my husband if we ever move to India then I want to open a sweet shop called ” American Sweetheart “; 🙂 I love to make food because it makes so many people happy, especially sweets, they are universal! 🙂

  1. Oh gulab jamun, how I love thee! When I came to Nepal last year I wanted to eat it every day. And so I did. Right now I am going through a withdrawal stage. I haven’t had it in months. Your post reminded me of how much I love gulab jamun. Maybe it’s time to start eating it again 🙂

Leave a comment